The Parties to this Agreement,

RECALLING the Joint Declaration on the Launch of Negotiations for the
Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership adopted by the Heads
of State or Government of the Member States of the Association of
Southeast Asian Nations (hereinafter referred to as “ASEAN” in this
Agreement) and Australia, China, India, Japan, Korea, and New Zealand
at Phnom Penh, Cambodia on 20 November 2012 which endorsed the
Guiding Principles and Objectives for Negotiating the Regional
Comprehensive Economic Partnership;

DESIRING to broaden and deepen economic integration in the region,
strengthen economic growth and equitable economic development, and
advance economic cooperation, through this Agreement, which will build
upon existing economic linkages among the Parties;

ASPIRING to strengthen their economic partnership to create new
employment opportunities, raise living standards, and improve the
general welfare of their peoples;

SEEKING to establish clear and mutually advantageous rules to
facilitate trade and investment, including participation in regional and
global supply chains;

BUILDING upon their respective rights and obligations under the
Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization done
at Marrakesh on 15 April 1994, and the existing free trade agreements
between the Member States of ASEAN and their free trade partners,
namely Australia, China, Japan, Korea, and New Zealand;